Committee on the Judiciary

About the Committee

Councilmember McDuffie serves as Chair of the Committee on the Judiciary. The Committee on the Judiciary is responsible for matters affecting the judiciary and judicial procedure which are within the authority of the Council; matters affecting decedents’ estates and fiduciary affairs; matters affecting administrative law and procedure, including the Freedom of Information Act; matters affecting criminal law and procedure; returning citizen affairs; human rights; juvenile justice; elections; government ethics; campaign finance; matters arising from or pertaining to the police and fire regulations of the District of Columbia; and other matters related to police protection, correctional institutions (including youth corrections), fire prevention, emergency medical services, homeland security, criminal justice, public safety.

All hearings are open to the public and testimony is encouraged. If you wish to participate in any hearing, please contact Kate Mitchell at (202)724-7808 or via email at

The Committee on the Judiciary has purview over the following agencies:

Metropolitan Police Department
Office of the Attorney General
Office of Victim Services
Office of Human Rights/Commission on Human Rights
Office of Police Complaints/Police Complaints Board
Board of Ethics and Government Accountability
Police Officer Standards and Training Board
Access to Justice Initiative
District of Columbia Sentencing and Criminal Code Revision Commission
Board of Elections
Office of Campaign Finance
Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department
Office of Unified Communications
Office of Administrative Hearings/Advisory Committee to the Office of Administrative Hearings
District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission
Commission on Judicial Disabilities and Tenure
Commission on Selection and Tenure of Administrative Law Judges
Office of Justice Grants Administration
Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services
Department of Forensic Sciences
Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency
Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
District of Columbia National Guard
Child Support Guidelines Commission
Juvenile Abscondence Review Committee
Juvenile Justice Advisory Group
Homeland Security Commission
Motor Vehicle Theft Prevention Commission
Security Officer Advisory Commission
Uniform Law Commission
Public Defender Service
Pretrial Services Agency
Criminal Justice Coordinating Council
Department of Corrections
Corrections Information Council
Office on Returning Citizen Affairs/Commission on Returning Citizen Affairs

Committee Members Include:

Councilmembers Anita Bonds, Mary Cheh, and Jack Evans.